Party Leaders

Keith Downey – Chair

Keith Downey was elected Chair of the Republican Party of Minnesota April 2013 and re-elected on April 11, 2015. Downey served two terms in the Minnesota House of Representatives and was the Vice Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee. He is a business consulting specialist and was a partner with Virchow Krause Consulting.

Keith Downey, Chair


Chris Fields – Deputy Chair

Chris Fields was elected Deputy Chair of the Republican Party of Minnesota in May 2014. Chris served as the Secretary of the Republican Party of Minnesota as well as Co-Chair of the Elephant Club. Chris Fields lives in Minnesota’s Fifth Congressional District and ran for in the district against Keith Ellison. Chris is a retired combat veteran who honorably served his country for more than 21 years in the United States Marine Corps.

Chris Fields, Deputy Chair


Barb Sutter – Secretary 

Barb Sutter was appointed Secretary of the Republican Party of Minnesota in May 2016. Barb has been a BPOU chair and candidate for state legislature, and brings a wealth of experience, perspective and relationships to the position.

Barb Sutter, Secretary


Bron Scherer – Treasurer 

Bron Scherer has been a professional accountant since 1979 (CPA since 1981). Bron was appointed RPM Secretary-Treasurer in January 2012 and was re-appointed RPM Treasurer in April 2013 and 2015 and currently serves on the RPM Financial Controls and Oversight and Personnel Committees. He served as treasurer for three Minnesota State legislative candidates, served as campaign manager for former Senator Al DeKruif in 2010, was Rice County BPOU chair, Rice County BPOU Finance Chair and Treasurer/Executive Committee Member for the Second Congressional District Republican Party.

Bron Scherer, Treasurer


Janet Beihoffer – Republican National Committeewoman

Janet Beihoffer was elected as the National Committeewoman from Minnesota in May 2012. Retired from her career at IBM, she currently teaches Management Information Systems part-time at Metropolitan State University. Beihoffer has been the Statewide Director of Operations for the MNGOP since 2010, and served as the Chair of the Minnesota 2nd Congressional District from 2008-2009. 

Janet Beihoffer, National Committeewoman


Rick Rice – Republican National Committeeman

Rick Rice was elected National Committeeman in May, 2016. He graduated from the University of St Thomas, BA, Business and the American College, as a Chartered Life Underwriter, CLU. His life as a political activist began early: door knocking, working on various campaigns, as well as attending local BPOU events. He ran for the MN House of Representatives in HD 44B. He continues today with candidate campaigns and Minnesota Republican Party fundraising. Rick worked thirty plus years with Northwestern Mutual and is currently working as a full time career agent with MassMutual specializing in comprehensive financial, estate, retirement, disability and long term care planning. Rick is married with two sons, and lives in St Louis Park, MN.

Rick Rice, National Committeeman


Congressional District 1    @CD1MNGOP

Carol Stevenson, Chair

Congressional District 2    @CD2MNGOP    

Matthew Kowalski, Chair


Congressional District 3    @cd3mngop

Randy Gilbert, Chair


Congressional District 4   @MNCD4GOP

James Carson, Chair


Congressional District 5    @MNCD5GOP

David Pascoe, Chair


Congressional District 6    @mncd6gop

Luke Yurczyk, Chair


Congressional District 7    @MNCD7GOP

Craig Bishop, Chair


Congressional District 8    

Ted Lovdahl, Chair